Carnivorous Plants: The Venus Fly Trap and Others

When I taught an after-school garden club for elementary students, I tried to find topics that would use the science of awe to engage the students. Shortly into my thirteen-year tenure leading the club, I found a carnivorous plant at a local nursery. What a perfect topic, I thought to myself! So, I learned about this group of plants first, reading everything I could from reputable sources. Soon a unit came together that I used to teach my young students (aged 7–12). Virtually, every year after or for the next ten years, I taught a carnivorous plant unit. It’s no surprise…

--

--

Carol Labuzzetta, MS Natural Resources, MS Nursing

Environmental educator with a passion for teaching youth using the science of awe. Traveler, Photographer, Author, Wife, Mother. Boosted Writer x 10