Making An Effort…More Than Just A Trip To Trader Joe’s.

Making an effort with family is important as we age.

Image by Pexels from Pixabay

When we went to the Buffalo, New York area this past week to visit family, I had no plans to see my sister. We were staying at my sister-in-law’s condo and my sister lives 45 minutes away in a town on the other side of the city. Essentially, one lives in the Southtowns and the other in the Northtowns (with Buffalo in between).

But I had planned a trip to Trader Joe’s. I know it sounds silly, but I’d never been to one of their stores before. When I look where exactly it was located, it was in my old stomping grounds of Niagara Falls Boulevard, an area I was extremely familiar with from living in North Buffalo before.

When I realized where it was, I texted my sister. My husband and sister-in-law were headed to a funeral. I had a couple of hours to spend…so, I reached out. I wanted to make an effort.

Don’t get me wrong, my sister and I have a good relationship. But we are in two different stages of life. My husband and I are retired, and fancy-free. She and her husband are still working full-time. They are both a little younger than us. And in all honesty, she’s at the peak of her career. I understand why she’s still working. When we come into town to see my parents who live about 70 miles…

--

--

Carol Labuzzetta, MS Natural Resources, MS Nursing

Environmental educator with a passion for teaching youth using the science of awe. Traveler, Photographer, Author, Wife, Mother. Boosted Writer x 10