Our Crazy Calico Cat & Why We Love Her

We got a cat from a rescue at the end of February and she’s weaseled her way into our hearts!

Carol Labuzzetta, MS

--

calico cat with a stuffed mouse
Callie, the Calico Cat. © Carol Labuzzetta, 2023.

We’ve been a “dog” family for the last four years, getting a purebred yellow labrador in August 2019. Molly, our lab — now almost four years old, is a wonderful dog and family member. She’s made me love dogs and learn not to fear them as I had in my youth. My husband grew up with dogs but from early on in our marriage we had cats.

yellow lab, with red bandana
Molly our labrador retriever. © Carol Labuzzetta, 2023.

While I have grown to love dogs, especially our Molly, I am truly a “cat” person. I love cats and I’ve missed having them. Our last set of cats, brothers whom we named Lewis and Clark, passed away in 2015. They were gray-brown tabbies.

Years went by, Molly came into our family and we experienced the joy of having a pet again! Molly is super attached to my husband. I understand this completely as he is her main caretaker.

After we moved last summer, my husband asked if I’d like to have a cat again. He knew the answer before he asked! Of course, I would. After getting settled in, vacationing both last September and this past February, it was time to look…

--

--

Carol Labuzzetta, MS

I write about the environment, education, nature, and travel. Having two master's degrees, in nursing and environmental education, I am a teacher at heart.