Times have changed! I Hate Shopping Now!

There are certain items I don’t want to buy online!

Woman shopping in person (brick and mortar storefronts) with bags over her shoulder.
Image by gonghuimin468 from Pixabay

With our recent move to living in a rural area, gone are the days when I would run to Kohl’s or Target or Michaels for something I needed or just to get out of the house.

I’ve never been a huge shopper but did like to go and browse occasionally or have the freedom to go when I wanted to. Now, the nearest shopping for the type of stores I mentioned above is an hour’s drive away. That, coupled with the price of gas, has stopped my trips based on whimsy or a need to dismiss some “cabin” fever. Now, we plan to go “shopping.”

Lumber yard at Menards — stacks of construction lumber
Menard’s lumber yard. © Carol Labuzzetta, 2022

Yesterday, we needed construction-grade lumber for a shed my husband is building. Home improvement stores, such as Home Depot and Menards, which were both only a ten-minute drive away from our previous residence, now also take an hour's drive. We now plan when we go.

The problem is that one is not always “in the mood” to go when the trip has been planned. And, then, once you arrive you are tired from the drive. To compound matters, it’s tougher than ever to not find the items you are looking for on a particular trip. Because it…

--

--

Carol Labuzzetta, MS Natural Resources, MS Nursing

Environmental educator with a passion for teaching youth using the science of awe. Traveler, Photographer, Author, Wife, Mother. Boosted Writer x 10